Voting begins in three Auckland by-elections

By-election packs are being mailed out this week and voting begins today for the Maungakiekie-Tāmaki Ward, Manurewa Local Board and Waitematā Local Board by-elections.

“With the Auckland Anniversary public holiday on Monday affecting the mail, we advise voters who haven’t received their pack by Thursday 1 February to get in touch with us by calling the Electoral Office on 09 973 5212 or 0800 922 822.”

Ballot boxes are available from Friday 26 January until noon on Saturday 17 February at libraries located within the by-election areas, as well as:

The Electoral Office, Level 2, 198 Federal Street, Auckland City
The Bledisloe Lane Service Centre, 24 Wellesley Street, Auckland City.
The Manukau Service Centre, 4 Osterly Way, Manukau.

All completed voting documents must be received by noon, Saturday 17 February 2018.

There are twelve candidates standing across the three by-elections with approximately 165,000 Aucklanders eligible to cast votes.

For more information about the candidates, the voting process, ballot box locations, the electoral boundaries and other general information about the by-elections please visit the Auckland Council website.

People can double check that they are enrolled to vote in their local by-election by checking the electoral roll at libraries located within the by-election areas.